Common’s Father, Lonnie ‘Pops’ Lynn, Has Died. He was 71

Commons Father Lonnie Lynn Dead At 71

Common‘s father, Lonnie Lynn, has died.

The Chicago rapper’s fans know Lynn for his soulful spoken-word poems on Common’s albums.

The AP is reporting that Lynn died on Friday according to  Common  in an interview Monday in Los Angeles. He gave no further details. Lynn was 71

“Lynn was a star high school basketball player in Chicago and played in the 1969-1970 season in the American Basketball Association. He struggled with drug addiction and with being a father to six children, topics he addressed in poignant, sometimes regretful poems that concluded many of Common’s albums,” the AP reported.

“He was truly a natural poet and master of words. His personality and soul shined through his work,” Common shared in the interview.

“The way he said things made me look at life and the world in a new way, in a different way. They always sparked a thought in my head. His words would always make me strive to achieve higher, to write better, to be more truthful with my words.”

Lynn, known as “Pops” on Common’s albums, recorded his last poem for the rapper’s 2011 release, “The Dreamer/The Believer.”


High School Reveals Reason Why Nicki Minaj Couldn’t Guest Speak


Last week, it was revealed Nicki Minaj wasn’t allowed to speak at her old high school – LaGuardia High.

“I wanted to go back to my high school and speak to the students but the new principal declined. No need for me to inspire them, I guess. SMH,” Minaj tweeted.

She added her feelings were hurt:

“That school changed my life and I wanted to pay it forward to the students there now. I was really looking forward to it. I guess I’m not good enough.”

The high school fired back — claiming that’s not the reason why she was prohibited form speaking to the performing arts school, but there’s another reason.

“It has been brought to our attention that Nicki Minaj is attempting to generate publicity for herself by posting negative information about our principal, Dr. Lisa Mars, and LaGuardia Arts High School,” said a letter sent out to parents explaining why they declined Minaj.

The letter continued, “the fact is that Ms. Minaj was told by the NYC Department of Education (DOE) that she would not be allowed to enter the school with a television crew. The DOE has policies in place to protect the privacy and security of all its students. I’m sure we all appreciate the strict enforcement of these policies with regard to the safety of our children.”


Album: Willi.M Blake – AudioPilot Vol. 1

“Willi.M Blake – AudioPilot Vol. 1″

DMV artist Willi.M Blake brings his 2 years of creativity to light with the release of his new effort “AudioPilot Vol 1″. Not wanting his project to live inside a box, Blake stresses that there is no genre attached to the album and it was made with the sole purpose of moving the listener. Half of the production is taken on by In house producer Amaze Beatz, with Hank Iving, Y.K.S. Beats and Grand Cru handling the rest. Press play and prepare for takeoff on the ride that is “AudioPilot Vol. 1″.

Willi.M Blake Links
Soundcloud | Reverb Nation | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Youtube

New Music – Marc Haize – Tim Hardaway feat. Tony Del FreshCo

“Marc Haize – Tim Hardaway feat. Tony Del FreshCo”
(Prod. by SKMA)

Marc Haize and Tony Del FreshCo of Houston, TX come together in the studio after a long weekend of parlaying with some pretty girls on the coast to bring you this jam produced by Georgia’s own SMKA. A great preview for Tony‘s “Red October” dropping this fall and Marc Haize‘s “Sounds For the Love” Mixtape coming soon


Marc Haize Links
Website | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Soundcloud

Jeezy – Holy Ghost (Official Music Video)

Young Jeezy gets right to it and releases an official music video for “Holy Ghost.” This is off of his new album, Seen It All: The Autobiography, available now on iTunes….

August Alsina Ft. Nicki Minaj – No Love (Remix) Official Music Video Teaser

August Alsina released a teaser of his forthcoming music video for “No Love (Remix)”featuring Nicki Minaj. The full video will be released on Vevo Monday, September 15. The original version appears on August’s Testimony album, available on iTunes




Nicki Minaj Covers Dazed; Isn’t Welcome at Old High School (Video)

nicki minaj,

Nicki Minaj graces the cover of Dazed Magazine with two looks. But even the magazine spread couldn’t prevent her from being upset she’s not welcomed at her former high school.

The current principal doesn’t think Minaj is influential enough to ever speak to students or visit at LaGuardia High School where she went to high school.

“I wanted to go back to my high school and speak to the students but the new principal declined. No need for me to inspire them, I guess. SMH,” she tweeted.

Minaj’s feelings SOUND hurt as she continued, “that school changed my life and I wanted to pay it forward to the students there now. I was really looking forward to it. I guess I’m not good enough.”

But she has something to be happy and excited about in place of LaGuardia High School. Her beautiful magazine cover covers the different sides of her big personality.

In the pic to the left, she channels a sophisticated fashion-forward woman — wearing a Coco Chanel-like pink blazer.  And in the pic to the right, she’s her usual sexy self — wearing green stiletto-heeled boots.

Jeff Bark shot the covers for the fall/winter issue while fashion director Robbie Spencer, styled the images. In the 18-page spread she talked about her fame and being hip hop’s leading lady.

This is the reason why the current principal of her former high school should be begging her to be a guest speaker. Maybe, her “Anaconda” music video made the principal nervous?! Nevertheless, the latest issue of Dazed Magazine came out on Thursday, Sept. 11, 2014.

Watch the behind-the-scenes to her shoot below:


Related Posts with Thumbnails